Tomorrow Is Another Day, Really?

In the midst of all my processing about death as far as my family is concerned, I am still the caregiver for my wife, and her Stage IV Lung Cancer. Her brain has been zapped with radiation 30 times in the past 6 years. That’s 30 individual zaps to 30 specific brain lesions. That, in addition to the radiation they threw at her chest 3 years ago, leaves her very fatigued and a little fuzzy in the brain department. So she usually asks me to help her with big things. Like last night.

We went to the car dealership so she could lease a new car. Her car is 10 years old and not really suited for New England winters. She settled on a Subaru Forester. We got them to give her everything she wanted in the monthly payment range she wanted. I hate car places. You can’t just walk in and buy a car like you would buy a dress off the rack. All that dickering is such BS. But this place didn’t do that, which was a huge relief.

Anyway, we get to the part where they are telling us what will happen in the three years when the lease is up. The great deal she will be able to get for the next car she will lease, etc. And I am sitting there thinking, three years is a long way aways. I am thinking that with a lease, I can just return the car after she dies. I don’t have to deal with loan payments, etc. Really awful, dark thoughts. I hate those thoughts. I did not share them, but I know she was thinking the same things.

How many more tomorrows? I know, in reality, any of us can be hit by a bus, get a massive heart attack, etc. But we get to live blissfully in denial. When the Sword of Damocles, that would be the cancer, is dangling over your head, there is no blissful denial. There is only this moment. That’s all you got. That’s all you can be sure of. And you better make the most of that moment.

So she will pick up the new car this week and drive it blissfully south to visit her 5-month-old grandson. And I am very happy it will be in the new, all-wheel-drive Subaru, with the best safety rating. Tagrisso (daily chemo pill) plus Subaru equals more time, more bliss.

imgres

Leave a Reply

